Leadership Team

The AACSM is composed of a Board of Directors and an Advisory Board. The Board of Directors is an operating board, responsible for carrying out the educational mission of the organization by developing content for the web site, newsletter and other educational offerings. The Advisory Board is made up of respected thought leaders in the fields of Cardiology and Sleep Medicine. Advisory Board members are invited to articles, seminars and to speak at the annual meetings.

Lee A. Surkin, MD, FACC, FCCP, FASNC

surkinpicA Yale educated, triple board certified physician with a Masters in Nutrition practices integrative cardiology, sleep medicine and bariatric medicine. He focuses on the best of traditional and modern scientific medicine to help prevent, diagnose and treat heart disease, sleep disorders and obesity. He balances optimal treatment with cost effective care for the best patient outcome.

Dr. Surkin is one of a very few number of Board Certified Cardiologists who is also Board Certified in Sleep Medicine in the United States.

Dr. Surkin has been bringing new and innovative approaches to treating his patients for over 19 years. He places a strong emphasis on prevention and early detection of disease. In his practices he combines compassionate care, purposeful education, comprehensive evaluation and integrative therapies. Dr. Surkin knows that optimal health can best be achieved by combining components of care that focus on risk factor modification, proper diet, exercise, healthy sleep and traditional medical treatment.

Dr. Surkin is the founder of The American Academy of Cardiovascular Sleep Medicine (www.aacsm.org) and writes health columns and is a speaker in an effort to help educate individuals about the best ways to maximize cost effective health.

Anthony Q. Chan, MD

AQC-desk-(2)Dr. Chan focuses on the association between poor sleep and increase incidence of hypertension, diabetes, heart disease and cancers. He developed one of the world’s first sleep cardiology medical practices. Dr. Chan is a member of the American Board of Cardiovascular Diseases and Sleep Medicine. One of the very few Sleep Cardiology specialists in the country, Dr. Chan was Adjunct Clinical Professor of Cardiology at Stanford University School of Medicine (1993-2012).

He is a Co-Investigator of the Catnap Trial which launched the world’s first remote wireless monitoring of pacemakers (Biotronik, Berlin, Germany; a technology that is now widely adapted by leading pacemaker companies such as Medtronic, St. Jude Medical and Boston Scientific).

From 2002 to 2013, Dr. Chan and his team published over 50 scientific abstracts and literatures dealing with heart disease and sleep disorders. He has led lectures in the U.S. and abroad.

Shahrokh Javaheri, MD

javaheriDr. Javaheri is Professor Emeritus of Medicine at the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine, and sleep physician at the Bethesda North Hospital, Cincinnati, Ohio. He is internationally known for his research on various sleep disorders including sleep apnea and cardiovascular disease, with emphasis on heart failure, opioids-associated sleep apnea, and complex sleep apnea.

He completed his clinical and research fellowship in pulmonary medicine at Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School. He joined University of Cincinnati in 1983 and established a clinical and research sleep lab at Veteran’s Administration medical center where he has done extensive research in the areas of sleep-related breathing disorders and cardiovascular diseases. These research studies have been published in many peer–reviewed journals such as New England Journal of Medicine, Annals of Internal Medicine, Circulation, Journal of the American College of Cardiology, Thorax, American Journal of Medicine, European Heart Journal, Journal of Clinical sleep Medicine, Journal of Sleep, Chest and American Journal of Respiratory Disease and Critical Care Medicine.


Christopher J. Lettieri, MD, FACP, FCCP, FAASM


Christopher J. Lettieri, MD, FCCP, FAASM is a Professor of Medicine and currently serves as the Pulmonary Critical Care Medicine Consultant to the Army Surgeon General, the Senior Medical Advisor to the Joint Chiefs of Staff, and the Director of Global Operations for the Joint Staff Surgeon’s Office. Dr. Lettieri received his Doctor of Medicine degree from the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences. He completed his residency in Internal Medicine at Tripler Army Medical Center and received his fellowship training in Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine at Walter Reed Army Medical Center.

Prior to his current positions, Dr. Lettieri has served as the Chief of Walter Reed’s Sleep Disorders Center, Assistant Deputy Commander for Medical Services at the Walter Reed National Military Medical Center, and as the Sleep Medicine Fellowship Program Director at the National Capital Consortium. He has been the Chair of the American Thoracic Society’s Section of Terrorism and Disaster Medicine, Chair of the American Academy of Sleep Medicine’s Education Committee, and a member of the Executive Board of the American Sleep Medicine Foundation. He currently serves as a Board Member for the National Sleep Foundation, the American Society of Dental Sleep Medicine, and the American Academy of Cardiovascular Sleep Medicine. He is also a member of the Food and Drug Administration Advisory Board and seven editorial boards. Dr. Lettieri has served on numerous national and international task forces and working groups for Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine topics.

He has received several teaching, research and achievement awards. Most recently, these include the Surgeon General’s Physician Recognition Award, the Admiral James Zimble Award for the Outstanding Program Director, The Major General Lewis A. Mologne Award for Outstanding Academic Medicine, the William Crosby Excellence in Research Award, and several Faculty Teacher of the Year Awards. He is a recipient of the US Army’s “A” proficiency designator and was selected into both the Order of Military Medical Merit and Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honors Society.